Book Review. Gods and Monsters by Shelby Mahurin. 4 stars.

Warning: Contains minor spoilers.

Another amazing book from Shelby Mahurin and another amazing series that left me sad that it was over. I can’t live like this… great stories just ending, 😭😭😭

Let’s start with what I liked…

Nicolina’s POV was a nice treat. We get another perspective on everything plus her own past and more about the wraiths. That made for another curious addition and how Lou got trapped inside Nicolina.

Lou’s POV from inside Nicilina was another good perspective. Her struggle to get free brought painful memories to the surface for both Lou and Nicolina, and I think that made me sympathise more with Nicolina.

Revelations on Coco’s family (I’ll spare you specifics here) made me so happy since that’s my favourite kind of magical being. It also expanded the world and allowed for more fun with gathering allies.

The epilogue. No spoilers but… I cried. I actually cried. 

What I did/didn’t like…

I both liked and didn’t like Lou and Reed having such a brief moment as themselves before it got take from them again. It felt like I didn’t get a chance to love them together again after their issues in book 2. I needed at least a chapter of normalcy between them before things changed. 

What I didn’t like…

Reid is still too bratty for my liking. 

Final thoughts…

After finishing this book, I felt satisfied enough over the story’s ending, but a sort of emptiness over leaving the characters. It’s a love story with a ton of magic and amazing characters along with a beautiful French influence.

Book Review. Kingdom of the Wicked by Kerri Maniscalco, 3.5 Stars

Warning: Contains minor spoilers. Check out my Reading Ranting page for more.

Rating: 3.5 out of 5.

Another Hades and Persephone adaptation. That’s like the 5th I’ve read this year. But that’s not a criticism of this book, purely a comment that I clearly have a type. Lol. Anyway, I generally liked this book for the magic and its characters and interesting places, but I got confused a bit too often. Maybe it was just me.

What I liked…

Firstly, I absolutely love that it’s set in alternative historical Sicily with lots of Italian names and… Love me some limoncello. I found myself getting hungry in virtually every other scene because Emilia’s parents owned a restaurant, which was based on a real restaurant in the author’s life. Extra fun.

Also, Emilia… My name. I never see my name in books I like, so this was fun. Not that it matters. Just a personal thing. 

I loved that the main parts of the magic system weren’t particularly complicated. Witches can cast spells and demons can be summoned. With some variations and specific rules here and there, that was the gist of it. Also, gates to Hell and Hell Princes… again nothing complicated to wrap my head around.

What I did/didn’t like…

Wrath was a confusing fellow, especially at the end (no spoilers on that). I think that made him even more interesting, but I would have liked some of his and Emilia’s nicer moments to last a little longer. I didn’t feel the excitement of a pending romance with these two. Still, it worked on the whole. I dunno. Maybe m

What I didn’t like…

The existence of Hades confused me (even though it’s a Hades and Persephone story) since I thought it was more Christianity with some pagan goddesses for the witches. But Hades didn’t seem to fit into it except for one artifact.

The story felt slow to start and got a bit confusing along the way. I found it hard to keep track of why random Princes were showing up because Emilia didn’t question it. I think that would have helped me more if she had mused, even if she was wrong. It was just all a bit too random until the last moment, by then, I’d forgotten the earlier events because I was trying so hard to make sense of the current ones.

Final thoughts…

I would recommend this book to readers who like Hades and Persephone adaptations, witches and spells, demons, and limoncello. And I will definitely be reading book 2. That’s going to be on December’s TBR list. Or sooner, since I’m really curious to know what happens next.

Book Review. Blood and Honey by Shelby Mahurin. 4 stars.

Warning: Content may contain minor spoilers. Check out my Reading Ranting page for more reviews and thoughts on reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I really enjoyed this book. It wasn’t quite as captivating as the first in the series, but I would happily read the next book.

What I liked…

Louis and Reid started off pretty strong in this as they reevaluated their relationship as witch and ex witch hunter-turned-witch. Wow. That was fun to see how Reid dealt with that. 

I enjoyed seeing more magical characters in this one and a new form of magic with Coco’s aunt. It made for a richer world. 

Lou struggles with her magic in this book having lost pieces of herself to it at the end of book 1. It’s like an addiction for her, a way to manipulate what she doesn’t like into something she does like. Nicely done methinks.

I love the journeys to get more allies. Having already failed to defeat Morganne, they need all the help they can get. Also, it created more tension as to whether the various other groups would actually help. Minor spoiler… Reid already f**cked up in that sense from his time as a witch hunter. Oops.

But what they really need is to prove Lou is worthy of taking her mother’s place if they defeat her, and that’s Lou’s biggest inner struggle. 

As in book 1, the love scenes were nicely done. Oblivious but on the delicate side considering this book is categorised YA. Or maybe it’s NA. Either way, it gets mentioned a lot as YA, so who knows?. It also suited the characters and their emotions at the time. 

Image  by damar9 at Deviantart.

What I didn’t like…

Reid felt a little dramatic sometimes, maybe a bit bratty, even for YA/NA whatever it’s categorised as.

Anyway, I absolutely love this book and the entire series since I’ve finished book 3 now. I love witches, fun magic systems, wild adventures, and complex characters. This whole series ticked every box of things I love in a book as well as that je ne sai quoi. Lol. French. Oh, and I especially loved the French influence.

Book Review. A Strange Hymm, The Bargainer #2 by Laura Thalassa, 4 stars.

Warning: Some reviews contain minor spoilers, but I keep the best parts vague. Check out my Reading Ranting page for more reviews and thoughts on reading.

Rating: 4 out of 5.

I was so excited to read book 2 of the The Bargainer series after I loved the 1st book so much. This didn’t disappoint.

Callie has to deal with her changes in magic, the permanent wings and scales that make it near impossible to go back to the human world. But she has Des, The Bargainer, Night King, and mate. I thought I’d get sick of the mate trope, but this is done a little differently since they have a history. 

I almost miss the flashbacks to when she first knew Des before he left her for seven years. Even though we got the explanation for that, I think forcing that separation made it more acceptable, at least from a fantasy fiction perspective. What’s a few hundred years in age when you’re practically immortal? 

I also love how we see more of the Otherworld in this book. I love fantastical worlds, and since Callie’s from Earth, albeit an alternative one, she’s seeing the Otherworld for the 1st time along with me, which adds to the wonder.

And I love the mystery. Sometimes, I thought surely Callie would have figured it out sooner with her being a PI, but… makes for better suspense as a reader.

Des and Callie are one steamy couple. Despite the massive age gap, she’s an experienced adult that knows what she’s getting into with him. Also, the balance of their magic fits, his darkness, her shiny siren. I love sirens.

What I liked…

  • I like how Callie is realistically traumatised from her experience with the King of Fauna, but she stays pretty strong considering.
  • I love how her wings are feathered while Des’ are webbed. I just love wings.
  • I liked how Callie dealt with her wings and scales. She could have outright hated them all the time, or slowly accepted them. The latter was done nicely since Des’ love of them helped her accept them. 
  • I liked how they knew things weren’t over with the Theif of Souls since none of the sleeping women were waking up. 
  • Callie’s dreams were also a good way to keep the bigger story in the forefront of the reader’s mind while having some good character developmental scenes.

What I didn’t like… again not much here.

  • Temper’s dramatic appearance felt a smidge overdone and not foreshadowed as well as it could have been
  • Again, writing could have been better. Lots of repetitive wording and structures that could have easily been avoided with the right editor.

I loved this book all the way through. If you like faeries with wings, an Earth and high fantasy world combo, sexy men with wings, sirens, lots of smut, and fun times mixed into a bigger plot, then you’ll love this book. 

Stay tuned for the final book, Dark Harmony. And I’ll get to Emperor of Evening Stars at some point.